nevernight

So I finished Nevernight last night and while at the time I was like, “nooo I want more” now I’m just kind of more giddy over it (or maybe that’s the caffeine kicking in…) after having a few hours to mull over it. I completely fell in love with Mia and her story and I also really liked the narrator voice for her story. It was really charismatic but also a little dead pan and sarcastic. I really loved the Roman and Italian components in this novel, it was an interesting addition to the world building.

The Plot

The plot goes through different phases. The novel is split into three books and so each has a different tempo and different tone.

I can understand why a lot of people couldn’t see much of the hype in the beginning. The first book is largely expository so it’s not a lot of killing or action. It’s mostly moving and talking. We’re getting adjusted to the characters, especially Mia. We are introduced to her so we gotta get a little cozy. But once she and Tric get into the Whisper wastes, things start to pick up.

Book Two has a definitive faster tempo to it. There’s more fluidity and time is moving a lot quicker. While Book One we follow Mia and Tric over the course of a couple of weeks at most, Book Two is months. I mean by the time we get to Book Three a year has already passed.

Book Three is something I like to call the snowball tempo. You know when a snowball falls and just grows bigger and picks up speed? That’s how Book Three felt to me. It had me excited, tense, and anxious. I was actually having trouble eating and keeping calm because I got so invested, I felt myself get agitated. It definitely ends in a kind of cliffhanger but there’s also really great closure. It’s like the ending to a really good season of Game of Thrones (*COUGH COUGH SEASON 6 COUGH COUGH*).

Some of the major plot points I kind of saw a mile away with all of the flags going up, but I was still really entertained and I was intrigued enough to keep reading until the end.

The Characters

I love Mia. I love the way she came into the Red Church a little confused but also with a massive chip on her shoulder. I really like seeing people humbled so I felt some kind of satisfaction when she got her ass kicked, but I rooted for her throughout the entire novel. I love how she struggled with becoming a cold hearted killer but also with who she was as a person. She still has a set of morals. Albeit they’re not the traditional morals we hold on to, us readers, but she has morals nonetheless.

Now the rest of the cast are pretty great. I really liked Tric and he had this really wholesome personality and he was definitely one of the “good” guys there. Granted they’re going to school to be assassins, but you know what I mean. The other students were pretty interesting, but I’ll be honest we don’t really get to see too much of them other than their outside personas. We definitely get more of Tric and Mia.

The Writing

All in all this book really reminds me of a little bit of when Arya is training to be an assassin in Braavos. Okay, yes I kind of agree that this book really isn’t Young Adult despite the larger cast of characters being teenagers, but it really has to do with the writing style rather than the content of the novel. People tout it as it having too much violence and sex and swearing, but I’ll move my thoughts on that to another post. I think young adults should read this book. If you’ve read ACOTAR, ACOMAF, or any of The Hunger Games you probably won’t be all that surprised with this book, to be frank. It’s got just as much violence (even more) and, yes, there’s sex. If you’re comfortable with those subjects then I say go right ahead.

I’ve seen a lot of reviewers having trouble particularly with the footnotes, but I had no qualms with it. Kristoff does say in an interview that the footnotes aren’t mandatory. Yes, they do add a bit of flare to the world building, but he specifically wrote the footnotes for people who were definitely into reading the histories of the fictional worlds we read about. I found them really interesting and, at times, funny.

Nevernight is a really great starter for a trilogy and I’m already excited for the next installment in the series. I want to see where the story goes.

“Never flinch. Never fear. Never ever forget.”

26114463

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

