mini-dnf-reviews

The month of August was supposed to be a really quick one in terms of books. I had a line of eARCs I’ve been meaning to touch and I finally decided to dedicate a month to them. However, I decided that reading Vicious by V. E. Schwab and Nevernight by Jay Kristoff would be a fantastic idea. Right.

But, Alexa, why?

Because it threw me into a book slump.

That’s right ladies, gents, and everyone else. Those two books threw me into a fucking book slump. It was kind of downhill from there. You see, I have a tendency to be drawn in with a pretty cover and an enticing blurb and every time I seem to get shit on. It’s only been a couple of times that I’ve been really blown away by an eARC I have requested. I don’t know what it is, but I’m hoping I’m not the only one who falls into this pit.

So what’s on the DNF train this month?

26236852

Yo, guys I really wanted to like this book. Actually, I really wanted to like both this book and Girl in the Shadows. You guys might not know this, but I love history. I’m incredibly fascinated by the subject and in British history I tend to find the Tudors to be incredibly fascinating. So of course when I found out that a book for each of the Tudor wives were to be written in historical fiction fashion, I just had to pick it up. Sadly, I was pretty disappointed.

The entire novel was really distant for me. I never felt drawn into the story. I never felt like I was part of it nor did I feel the intense need to continue on with the story. I think I expected it to be a bit more dramatized that it was. It was pretty clear cut and dry for the most part and it was the most upsetting when there were moments of deep dread and depression from Katherine, but I felt so separated from it and while my head was telling me, “I should feel sad about this” my heart wasn’t in it.

Unfortunately that was really the biggest thing that turned me off from the novel. There was obviously a lot of research put into the novel but I think I might have traded a little bit of it for some more interesting reading.

26828513

Girl in the Shadows was another book I was really disappointed and saddened with. In the blurb, the book sounded so, so  interesting. A girl who wanted to become a world class magician and then finds out that she can do actual magic? Oh man that sounds cool as heck. Who wouldn’t want to read about it? Unfortunately, this book suffered from the same things that turned me off of Katherine of Aragon. The writing was overall detached and I didn’t really feel any of the harder moments of the novel. Also I didn’t realize that this was the second of a series and I think it might’ve helped of I read the first novel, but with how I experienced this novel I don’t know if I’d ever go into reading the first one but who knows? I think, along with Katherine of Aragon I was just expecting too much from this novel which is really a shame.

