The Witch Book That Didn’t Work (With Me)

ll-review-thumbnail

Man this year of books has been incredibly interesting. I’ve come across some amazing series starters, stand alones, and series. I’ve also come across books that just didn’t do it for me. Which is really upsetting when there are books that I would very much like to enjoy and very much would like to fangirl and yell at you about, but alas.

Perhaps my taste is something that’s just too critical and picky. Perhaps I’m just so busy with other things in my life that I need a book that hooks me by the jaw instantly, or else it just becomes boring.

Today that book is Labyrinth Lost. It’s really upsetting. Here is a book that’s #OwnVoices and features pretty much a full Latinx cast. It’s got everything that I want. Witches, PoC main characters, really cool love interest…and yet it just did not do it for me. Honestly, I’m at a loss. I don’t know what it is about the story that just didn’t click with me, but I found my mind drifting quite often. As a character driven reader, it’s kind of… a bummer when I don’t like the characters. I liked Rishi for the five seconds she was in the book and Nova seemed pretty cool, but nothing about any of the characters POPPED out at me.

I think part of it had to do with the main character, Alejandra. She was so against her culture and upbringing that it was kind of a turn off for me. I mean I get it, it’s totally weird having to live your life as a bruja and probably have to keep it under wraps but I mean come on. She seemed so whiny to me and I only found myself rolling my eyes.  Along with that the pacing was a bit wonky so it was strange. It felt very stop-start to me. For instance, there would be a period of just description and exposition and then there would be ACTION EVERYWHERE CRAZY SHIT HAPPENING and then we’re back to the exposition. Now I could also explain the same situation for, say, Six of Crows but the way it was writing in Labyrinth Lost just felt incredibly jerky and that frustrated me a little bit.

See, picky. I need things to work in a very nice and fluid manner.

The review is kind of short because I never finished the book. I DNF’d it about 30% in and moved on to… What did I move on to… OH I moved on to The Melody of You and Me. I may go back to reading it when I have more time to breathe and just lose myself in the reading, but this time around was a no-go.

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for providing me with an eARC for an honest review. 

27969081

 

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

2 thoughts on “The Witch Book That Didn’t Work (With Me)

  1. Sorry you didn’t enjoyed this one, especially since this one has been receiving a lot of hype in the blogosphere. But I totally get what you mean about the way MC going against her culture is a turn off. No matter what, it’s still part of her. I hope your next read would be better! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

