ck-review-thumbnail

How do I even begin this review? Six of Crows is a book I hold near and dear to my heart. It’s an amazing, fast paced heist novel with amazing characterization and just artful writing. I love a book that is written and moves like a movie. There’s nothing more entertaining to me than a book that I just consume without even realizing it. Even more so, this book was what kick started me back into writing and into acting. It’s made me kind of rediscover why I’m pursuing a career in the entertainment industry and why I’m an artist.

So how do I begin this review?

First, this book was an amazing sequel. It moved just like the first and we get more in depth with our beautiful crows and we learn more and more about Jesper, Wylan, Matthias, Inej, Nina, Kuwei, and of course Kaz. This book was another adventure and we discovered new things and revisited the old. Where Six of Crows revolved around one heist, Crooked Kingdom revolved around about five or six cons/heists. It sounds like it would be way too much for one novel, but oh ho, you would be wrong, my friend. Leigh does an amazing job at threading the event so seamlessly and so easily that you are just brought on for a ride.

What I loved the most about this novel, aside from the amazing character developments, was the way Leigh wrote her backstories. She wrote these backstories mostly in flashback form but whereas most writers would write them separately in chapters or, like Jay Kristoff, in a completely different format–Leigh does it seamlessly like the rest of her writing. She let’s the reader slowly realize that they are now witnessing a vision of the past and it was such a great example of the fluidity of her writing. I just LOVED it.

And of course we have to talk about the character development. The character development. If we’re talking about overall character development, Matthias is probably going to take the cake. This lovely wolf boy has come so far from our first introduction in Six of Crows. He has changed completely and his love for Nina is so pure and so bright, you just want a bright future for them and you want them to have a happy ending. If I was going to add another character to our list it would be Kaz. Kaz changes in a more subtle way, but my BABY BOY he changes. With Kaz it’s all in the details and the subtle changes that slowly happen over the book just make me love him more and more. I was right in some ways when I predicted that he would be a bit more rash in this novel. More than once is he surprised, but as with Kaz there’s always a way out.

Overall this book was an amazing finale and I loved it. There is some heartache, so be warned my crow friends–but the payoff is so good. I love how Leigh said in her event a few weeks ago that she left the doors open in case she wanted to revisit the world and so she did. I’m going to praise her writing again because she provided us with such a clear cut ending of this novel, but there is immense possibility for revisitation. I guess we would call this an open ending–but in the sense of character rather than plot. The story of Six of Crows is over, but I think we might see the characters yet again.

22299763

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

