I Signed Up for NaNoWriMo

nanowrimo-thumbnail

Yep. You guys read that right. I’ve been wanting to do this for years and years and finally I think I can actually tackle it. I signed up for NaNoWriMo this past weekend and I’m excited and scared.

I’m excited because I get to finally dedicate some time to a project that I’ve been working on but scared that I won’t meet my goal by the end of the month because of school, work, and other things that life likes to throw at my face, but I’m determined.

My goal isn’t a wordcount but only one thing: finishing my draft. I don’t care about how many words are in my novel because I think quality over quantity, but I would much rather finish the first draft of my novel before even thinking about word count. The only thing I can think about is that I won’t really “win” anything during NaNoWriMo. This is really only for me (as it should be), but I probably will transcribe everything I’ve written weekly now that I won’t have two jobs taking all of my time (*laughs* this is actually wrong because pretty much as soon as I quit from one job, I got another but this one pays a higher wage and asks for WAY less hours). So I won’t be able to update my word count daily because I won’t be putting it in my Scrivner or Word.

What is my novel going to be about? I’ve told a few of my friends, but it’s a novel about a Korean-American girl who exorcises demons. She finds out that her dad comes home and needs her help with a certain portal to Hell. While she’s trying to figure out a way to close the portal, she runs into a girl who is a demon hunter. Where Lana, my heroine, only exorcises demons back to hell our antagonist Celine actually kills demons in the name of God.

I hope I get this thing finished and when I do I’ll do a few revisions before sending it out to a few beta readers.

Are you guys participating in NaNoWriMo? If so, what are you writing about?

4 thoughts on “I Signed Up for NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

